How many appellate judges are there in Illinois?

54 judges
In total, the appellate court consists of 54 judges. Some judges are elected by the voters in the respective districts; those judges are initially elected to 10-year terms and then may be retained for additional 10-year terms.

Who are the Illinois Appellate Court judges?

Illinois Appellate Court Districts

Judge Tenure Appointed By
Thomas Hoffman 1993 – Present Elected
Sharon Oden-Johnson December 7, 2020 – Present Elected
Robert E. Gordon December 7, 2020 – Present Illinois Supreme Court
Eileen O’Neill Burke 2016 – Present Elected

How are appellate court judges selected in Illinois?

The seven justices of the Illinois Supreme Court and the 42 judges of the Illinois Appellate Court are selected in an identical manner. Judges are chosen by popular vote in partisan elections and serve 10-year terms, after which they must compete in uncontested, nonpartisan retention elections to remain on the court.

Will County Illinois appellate District?

The Third District Appellate Court is located in Ottawa and hears cases appealed from trial courts in 21 counties (Bureau, Fulton, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Kankakee, Knox, LaSalle, Marshall, McDonough, Mercer, Peoria, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, and Will).

What is the highest appellate court in Illinois?

The Illinois Supreme Court
The Illinois Supreme Court is the highest court in the State. Cases are normally channeled to the Supreme Court from the Appellate Court, but in cases where a Circuit Court has imposed a death sentence the law allows direct appeal to the Supreme Court, bypassing the Appellate Court.

What are the four types of judges in Illinois?

It consists of the Supreme Court, Appellate Court, and circuit courts. The Supreme Court oversees the administration of the court system.

Where is the Illinois Appellate Court?

160 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL
It is divided into six divisions, each with four judges. The First District clerk’s office, and the principal seat of the court are located in the Michael Bilandic Building, at 160 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60601.

What is a appellate judge?

Appellate courts hear and review appeals from legal cases that have already been heard and ruled on in lower courts. Appellate courts exist for both state and federal-level matters but feature only a committee of judges (often called justices) instead of a jury of one’s peers.

How are appellate judges selected?

Who appoints federal judges? Supreme Court justices, court of appeals judges, and district court judges are nominated by the President and confirmed by the United States Senate, as stated in the Constitution. Article III of the Constitution states that these judicial officers are appointed for a life term.

Do Illinois judges have term limits?

In Illinois, judges are elected to 10-year terms in partisan elections. In the event of an interim vacancy, the Illinois Supreme Court appoints a new justice to serve. After the appointment, that justice must run for a full term in the next general election that is more than 60 days after the appointment.

What are the duties of the Illinois Appellate Court?

The Illinois Appellate Court is the intermediate appellate court in Illinois. First established in 1877, it hears appeals from verdicts reached at the trial level (the circuit courts in the state), and its decisions, in turn, can be appealed to the Illinois Supreme Court.

Where is the Illinois Appellate Court located?

High-Profile Cases The First District Appellate Court is located in Chicago and hears cases appealed from trial courts in Cook County.

Where is Circuit Court in Illinois?

Stephenson County Circuit Court is located in Stephenson county in Illinois. The court address is 15 North Galena Avenue, Second Floor, Freeport, IL 61032.

What is the Fifth Appellate District?

The Fifth Appellate District covers nine counties located in central California: Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Stanislaus, Tulare and Tuolumne. The court is located at 2424 Ventura Street in the downtown area of Fresno.

Where is the Fourth District in Illinois?

The 4th District includes the Chicago community of Brighton Park, in addition to almost all of Hermosa, Lower West Side and Gage Park; parts of Albany Park , Irving Park , Avondale, Logan Square, West Town, Humboldt Park , Belmont Cragin , Austin, McKinley Park , South Lawndale , New City, West Elsdon and Archer Heights; portions of riverfront Bridgeport

What is Third Judicial Circuit?

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals is an appellate court in the United States responsible for handling cases from New Jersey, Delaware, and Pennsylvania. It also hears cases concerning the United States Virgin Islands, which is a territory rather than a state.

Share this post