Who received Turing Award?

Since 2014, the award has been accompanied by a prize of US$1 million, with financial support provided by Google. The first recipient, in 1966, was Alan Perlis, of Carnegie Mellon University. The first female recipient was Frances E….Turing Award.

ACM Turing Award
Last awarded 2020
Website amturing.acm.org

How many Turing Award winners are there?

This list of Turing Award laureates by university affiliation shows the university affiliations of Turing Award winners since 1966 (as of 2021, 74 winners in total).

Is Turing Award prestigious?

Turing Award has recognized major contributions of lasting importance in computing. Through the years, it has become the most prestigious technical award in the field, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of computing.”

Who is the youngest Turing Award winner?

Donald Knuth
The youngest winner was Donald Knuth, who convinced the jury with “Computer Programming as an Art” and won Turing Award in 1974 at the age of 36.

Who received AM Turing Award in 1994?

Raj Reddy

Raj Reddy
Citizenship United States
Alma mater University of Madras University of New South Wales Stanford University
Awards Legion of Honor (1984) Turing Award (1994) Padma Bhushan (2001) The Okawa Prize (2004) The Honda Prize (2005) Vannevar Bush Award (2006)
Scientific career

How do you get nominated for the Turing Award?

Nominations for the A. M. Turing Award should be submitted using the online nomination form….Submissions

  1. Name, address, phone number, and email address of nominator (person making the nomination).
  2. Name, address, and email address of the candidate (person being nominated).
  3. Suggested citation if the candidate is selected.

What is the most prestigious Award in computer science?

Turing Award
Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to “an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community”. The Turing Award is recognized as the “highest distinction in computer science” and “Nobel Prize of Computing”.

Which country is the highest recipient of Nobel award?

United States

Country Number of Nobel Prize winners
United States 12
Great Britain 12
Sweden 8
Germany 8

What is the highest award in computer science?

The Turing Award
The Turing Award is recognized as the “highest distinction in computer science” and “Nobel Prize of Computing”. The award is named after Alan Mathison Turing, mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester.

Why are Turing tests used?

The Turing Test is a deceptively simple method of determining whether a machine can demonstrate human intelligence: If a machine can engage in a conversation with a human without being detected as a machine, it has demonstrated human intelligence.

Who received the Turing Award in 1973?

Turing Award for Computer Science 1966 – 2019

Year Name
1973 Charles W. Bachman
1972 Edsger Wybe Dijkstra
1971 John McCarthy

Share this post