What are the 9 classification of dangerous goods?

List of the 9 dangerous goods classes

  • Class 1. Explosives.
  • Class 2. Gases.
  • Class 3. Flammable liquids.
  • Class 4.1 / 4.2 / 4.3. Flammable Solids.
  • Class 5.1 / 5.2. Oxidizing Substances.
  • Class 6.1 / 6.2. Toxic & Infectious Substances.
  • Class 7. Radioactives.
  • Class 8. Corrosives.

What is Class 9 DG?

Class 9 Dangerous Goods Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods Class 9 Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods are substances and articles which during transport present a danger or hazard not covered by other 8 classes.

How many classes are in dangerous goods?

9 classes
Dangerous goods are classified into 9 classes, based on the substance’s characteristics and properties. These criteria are outlined in the TDG Regulations. Assigning a substance into a hazard class is usually done by the consignor.

How many classes of dangerous goods are dangerous?

9 dangerous goods classes
There are 9 dangerous goods classes. Substances (including substances and mixtures), and articles are assigned to one of the following 9 classes according to the most predominant hazards they pose in transport.

What are the classes of IMDG Code?

International Maritime Dangerous Goods (IMDG) Classes

  • Class 1 – Explosives.
  • Class 2 – Gases: Compressed, Liquefied or Dissolved under Pressure.
  • Class 3 – Flammable Liquids.
  • Class 4 – Flammable Solids or Substances.
  • Class 5 – Oxidizing Substances (agents) and Organic Peroxides.
  • Class 6 – Toxic and infectious Substances.

What are the 9 classes of IMDG Code?

What are the 9 classes of Dangerous Goods?

  • Explosives.
  • Flammable Gases.
  • Flammable Liquids.
  • Flammable solids.
  • Oxidizing.
  • Toxic & Infectious.
  • Radioactive.
  • Corrosives.

How are dangerous goods classified?

Dangerous goods are classified according to their properties, for example ‘compressed toxic gas’, ‘flammable solid’, ‘toxic liquid’. Some dangerous goods attract subsidiary risk classifications, such as chlorine gas that is classed as toxic first and corrosive second.

How do you classify harmful products?

The types of dangerous goods, classified under nine groups can be listed down as follows:

  1. Group I: Explosive Materials.
  2. Group II: Gaseous Materials.
  3. Group III: Inflammable Liquids.
  4. Group IV: Inflammable Solids.
  5. Group V: Materials containing peroxides, easily oxidising contents.
  6. Group VI: Substances highly toxic and infective.

How are the 9 classes of dangerous goods determined?

There are 9 classes of dangerous goods and the class is determined by the nature of the danger they present: Class 1 goods are explosives – products that possess the ability to alight or detonate during a chemical reaction.

How are dangerous goods classified in the ADR?

The classes are part of the United Nations-based system of identifying dangerous goods, and are used within many different subsystems such as the ADR, RID, IMDG and DGR for classifying dangerous goods and hazardous materials. Class 1 Explosive substances and articles. Class 1 contains substances and articles which pose a hazard due to explosion.

What is Class 1 dangerous goods in Australia?

According to section of the Australian Dangerous Goods Code, Class 1 dangerous goods can be defined in a more detailed manner as:

What are Class 9 dangerous substances and articles?

Class 9 substances and articles (miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles) are substances and articles which, during transport present a danger not covered by other classes.

Share this post