Can a tennis ball touch the net on a serve?

A serve (or, more formally, a service) in tennis is a shot to start a point. Normally players begin a serve by tossing the ball into the air and hitting it (usually near the highest point of the toss). The ball can only touch the net on a return and will be considered good if it falls on the opposite side.

What happens if a serve hits the net?

A served ball that hits the net does not result in the service team losing its serve. The net serve is considered in-play, unless 1) it does not continue over the net or 2) lands outside the opposing team’s court-side untouched by the opposing team.

How many net serves do you get in ping pong?

How many serves does each player get? Each player gets 2 serves, and it alternates until one of the players scores 11 points, unless there is a deuce (10:10).

Is touching table allowed in table tennis?

No – this is a very frequently misunderstood rule in table tennis. The ONLY part of the body that cannot touch the table is your FREE HAND – i.e. the hand not holding the racket. The rest of your body can touch the table any time. As soon as your FREE HAND touches the table your opponent wins the point.

Are double hits legal in tennis?

Answer: You are correct. If it was one continuous motion, without a second intentional swing or push, then it is a legal shot even if it hit your racquet twice in the one swing. It is also your call to make and not your opponent’s.

Are you allowed to throw your racket in tennis?

A player must have control of his/her racket when he/she hits the ball. That means, a player can’t drop or throw a racket to hit the ball, and the player loses the point if the ball touches a dropped or thrown racket.

Can you reach over the net in pickleball?

Reaching over net : If the ball bounces onto your side of the court and spins back over the net, you may reach over the net (ie. breaking the plane of the net) to hit the ball. It is considered a valid return as long as you or your paddle does not touch the net.

Can you hit the net in pickleball?

So, the general rule is that you (or your paddle) may only cross the plane of the pickleball net after you strike the pickleball. If a pickleball player does any of these things – touch the net, posts, net system, or opposing side of the court – then a fault has occurred and that pickleball player will lose the rally.

Can you lose ping pong on a serve?

Can you lose on a serve in ping pong? Yes! There is no separate rule for serving on Game Point.

What is an illegal serve in table tennis?

Hidden serve is the most common illegal serve in table tennis. The player uses his free arm or his body to hide the contact point. It’s difficult to see if this was a topspin serve, a no-spin float serve, or a backspin serve. Hidden serve was allowed before but ITTF changed the rule.

How does serving work in a table tennis match?

In the above table tennis match, A and B are playing X and Y. Assuming A starts serving, he/she will get two serves which will be received by X. This will be followed by X serving the next two to B, followed by B serving to Y and then Y to A as shown in the above image.

Why is the serve unreturnable in table tennis?

The purpose of this rule is to ensure that the server can’t serve overarm like in tennis. This would potentially make every serve unreturnable! It also ensures that the ball must be struck as it’s falling and not as it’s rising.

Where does the ball have to touch in table tennis?

The rules say that the ball must touch the right half court – and that the centre line is regarded as part of each right court. So the base point of the ball needs to actually make contact with the line or the right half court to be ‘in’.

What happens if a ball hits the net in table tennis?

What happens if the balls hits the net, or goes around the net? During a serve, if the ball hits the net but still bounces on the opponent’s side of the table, the point is a let (which means it needs to be replayed). If the ball hits the net and doesn’t make it to the other half of the table, the receiver is automatically awarded a point.

Share this post