When did Burundi join East African Community?

July 2007
Burundi joined the East African Community in July 2007.

Is Burundi part of the EAC?

The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organization of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania with its Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Which country has recently joined the East African Community?

Republic of South Sudan. South Sudan joined the East African Community in April 2016. South Sudan is the newest member of the East African Community, it is also referred to as the youngest nation in Africa after gaining independence on 9 July 2011.

When did Rwanda join the East African Community?

Rwanda joined the East African Community in July 2007. In 2008, the Government of Rwanda decided to change the medium of education from French to English. In September 2008 ,Rwanda became the first nation in the world to elect a majority of women MPs: 45 of the 80 members of the Chamber of Deputies.

Who are the members of the East African Community?

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six (6) Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The EAC is structured into seven main Organs: The Summit.

What kind of country is the Republic of Rwanda?

The Republic of Rwanda is a landlocked country with land borders with four countries: Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Burundi and Democratic Republic of Congo (clockwise from the north). Water covers 1,390 sq. km of the country; the largest lakes include Bulera, Ihema, Kivu (straddling the border with the Democratic Republic…

When did Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda cooperate?

Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda have cooperated with each other since the early 20th century. The East African Currency Board provided a common currency from 1919 to 1966.

Share this post