What tropical plants grow in Hawaii?

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden

  • Zebra Plant. Zebra plant or Calathea zebrina found among the many specimens at the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden.
  • Ocean View. Ocean view inside the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden.
  • Serene Waterfall.
  • Tahitian Ginger.
  • Bright Eyes.
  • Towering Palms.
  • Native Hawaiian Hapu’u Pulu.
  • Red Jade Vine.

What are some unique plants in Hawaii?

The Top 8 Most Interesting Hawaiian Flowers & Plants

  • Haleakalā Silversword Plant. The Haleakalā silversword plant is so rare that it not only just grows in Hawaii, it also only grows in one spot in Hawaii.
  • Uluhe fern.
  • Ti.
  • Pili Grass.
  • Moa Fern.
  • Ilima Flower.
  • Iliau.
  • Naupaka Flower.

What kind of plants does Hawaii have?

Later settlers brought mangoes, papayas, pineapples, passion fruit and a variety of vegetables, as well as flowers, including plumeria, orchids, protea, heliconia, ginger, jasmine (pikake) and hibiscus. The arrival of early settlers in Hawaii with their plants and animals affected the Hawaiian flora in two ways.

What is the Hawaiian flower called?

Yellow hibiscus
Hawaii/State flower
Nevertheless, the jazzy, vivid flower, in hues ranging from bright pink to white, has come to symbolize Hawaii, with the yellow hibiscus, also known as pua alo alo, serving as the state’s flower.

What plants did the Polynesians bring to Hawaii?

When the Polynesians arrived on the islands 1,200 to 1,600 years ago, they brought with them a number of plant and animal species, including taro, sugarcane, coconut palm, pigs, and chickens.

What are 5 plants that thrive and flourish in Hawaii?

Listed below are some of the native plants found in Hawaii.

  • Argemone glauca – Pua Kala.
  • Cibotium spp. – Hapu’u.
  • Coprosma ernodeoides – ‘Aiakanene.
  • Cordia subcordata – Kou.
  • Dicranopteris linearis – Old World Forkedfern.
  • Dodonaea viscosa – Florida Hopbush.
  • Geranium cuneatum – Hinahina.
  • Hibiscus brackenridgei – Ma’o Hau Hele.

What are the Hawaiian Islands called?

Hawaii is typically recognized by its eight main islands: Hawaiʻi, Maui, Kahoʻolawe, Lānaʻi, Molokaʻi, Oʻahu, Kauaʻi, and Niʻihau.

Share this post