When was the Hornblower series written?

Other novels in the series include A Ship of the Line (1938), Flying Colours (1938), and Lord Hornblower (1946).

Is Hornblower based on a true story?

Horatio Hornblower is the fictional naval hero created by C. S. Forester in 1937 who appears in a number of novels set during the Napoleonic Wars. Hornblower is not based on an actual person but inspired by a variety of naval events and officers.

Is Hornblower a true story?

Is Hornblower based on Nelson?

Set during the Napoleonic Wars and only ending with the Battle of Waterloo, the author based his character on several important figures of the period, including Admiral Horatio Nelson, Sir George Cockburn, Sir James Gordon, and many more.

What is the Order of the Horatio Hornblower books?

Order of Horatio Hornblower Books. Horatio Hornblower is the protagonist in a series of naval adventure novels by English novelist C.S. Forester. The series is set during the Napoleonic Wars. Horatio begins the series as a junior captain with the Royal Navy on a secret mission to Central America.

When did the TV series Hornblower come out?

Hornblower is a series of British historical fiction war television films based on three of C. S. Forester ‘s ten novels about the fictional character Horatio Hornblower, a Royal Navy officer during the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars . The series ran from 7 October 1998 until 6 January 2003, with Ioan Gruffudd in the title role.

How many books are in the Hornblower Saga?

Combines the first three books in the series:… An omnibus edition compromising of four C S… These thrilling tales of high-seas adventure in… “Hornblower and the Widow McCool” is a short… Forester wrote this beautifully illustrated book… Contains: Mr. Midshipman Hornblower, Lieutenant… Junior edition published for the younger reader…

When did C.S.Forester start the Horatio Hornblower series?

C.S. Forester began the Horatio Hornblower series in 1937 with the novel The Happy Return. The series lasted 12 novels until Hornblower and the Crisis, published in 1967. Below is a list of C.S. Forester’s Horiatio Hornblower books in order of when they were originally released: Monthly Newsletter!


Share this post