What are the 7 stages of development Erikson?

  • Overview.
  • Stage 1: Trust vs. Mistrust.
  • Stage 2: Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt.
  • Stage 3: Initiative vs. Guilt.
  • Stage 4: Industry vs. Inferiority.
  • Stage 5: Identity vs. Confusion.
  • Stage 6: Intimacy vs. Isolation.
  • Stage 7: Generativity vs. Stagnation.

What are the 8 stages of personality development according to Erikson?

Summary of Erikson’s stages

Stage Conflict Age
5 Identity vs. confusion 12 to 18 years
6 Intimacy vs. isolation 18 to 40 years
7 Generativity vs. stagnation 40 to 65 years
8 Integrity vs. despair Over 65 years

What are the three stages of Erikson’s trust cycle?

Article Content

Stage Psychosocial Crisis Basic Virtue
1. Trust vs. Mistrust Hope
2. Autonomy vs. Shame Will
3. Initiative vs. Guilt Purpose
4. Industry vs. Inferiority Competency

What age is Erikson’s stages?

Summary Chart

Stage Ages Basic Conflict
2.Muscular-Anal 18 months to 3years Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt
3. Locomotor 3 to 6 years Initiativevs. Guilt
4. Latency 6 to 12 years Industryvs. Inferiority
5. Adolescence 12 to 18 years Identityvs. Role Confusion

What are the 4 stages of identity development?

The four identity statuses are achieved, moratorium, foreclosed, and diffused.

What is the focus of Erik Erikson’s theory?

Erikson emphasized that the environment played a major role in self-awareness, adjustment, human development, and identity. Each of Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development focus on a central conflict. In Erikson’s theory of development, children don’t automatically complete each stage on a predetermined schedule.

What does Erik Erikson say about the stages of psychosocial development?

Erik Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development. According to the theory, successful completion of each stage results in a healthy personality and the acquisition of basic virtues. Basic virtues are characteristic strengths which the ego can use to resolve subsequent crises.

What was the ninth stage of Erik H Erikson’s theory?

Department of Humanities, Institute of Pedagogy, University of Szczecin, Poland. In the present paper, Erik H. Erikson’s theory of psycho-social development is analysed, including a new, ninth stage proposed by his wife, Joan M. Erikson.

What does Erikson mean by the last stage of life?

Erikson defines it as a ‘kind of informed and detached concern with life itself in the face of death itself’ (1982: 61). Recognising the psycho-social crisis of the last stage of life does not mean that one must concentrate exclusively on integrity.

When did e.h.erikson write vital involvement in old age?

1997 ). Equally important for the analysis and for the proposal for a modification of E. H. Erikson’s theory was the book Vital Involvement in Old Age (Erikson, Erikson and Kivnick

Share this post