Why does Luxembourg have 3 official languages?

French was preferred in the administration. Luxembourgish had no official status at all. The constitutional revision of 1984 gave the legislature the power to regulate the language by law. Furthermore, this law recognizes the three languages of Luxembourg (Luxembourgish, French and German) as administrative languages.

Can you live in Luxembourg with English?

The tiny, almost fairytale-like country of Luxembourg is tucked away in Western Europe. It is landlocked and bordered by Germany, France and Belgium. Speaking Only English: Most expat sites and resources will tell you that English, German and French are as widely used in Luxembourg as the local language Luxembourgish.

What is the currency of Luxembourg?


Is Luxembourg a friendly country?

The thing with Luxembourg is that it’s relatively small size means its fairly easy to do quite a lot when you visit the country (you could drive from North to South in about 1 – 2 hours) and it also means that the people here are a lot friendlier than you’d typically find in much larger places.

What kind of language do people speak in Luxembourg?

According to a 2018 study of the Ministry of National Education, 98% of the Luxembourg population speaks French, 80% speaks English, and 78% speaks German. Luxembourgish is used by 77% of the population. French is the main communication language, followed by Luxembourgish, German, English and Portuguese.

Which is the most important word in Luxembourgish?

During its development, Luxembourg was heavily influenced by French. This means that much of the vocabulary has a francophone influence. For much of its existence, the language of Luxembourgish was not nearly as important as it is today. A simple ‘hello’ is arguably one of the most important words you can learn in any language.

When did Luxembourg start teaching French and Luxembourgish?

The law of 26 July 1843, reinforced bilingualism by introducing the teaching of French in primary school. Memorial to the Schengen Agreement in Luxembourgish, French, and German. Luxembourgish ( Lëtzebuergesch ), a Franconian language of the Moselle region similar to German and Dutch, was introduced in primary school in 1912.

Why is French the language of legislation in Luxembourg?

French remains the language of legislation, due to the application of the Napoleonic civil code in Luxembourg.

Share this post