How many departments are in France?

Ninety-six departments are in metropolitan France, and five are overseas departments, which are also classified as overseas regions….Departments of France.

Departments of France Départements français (French)
Found in Regions
Number 101 (as of January 1, 2021)
Possible types Metropolitan Departments Overseas Departments

What is the difference between a region and a department in France?

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments ( Departements ). There is a total of 96 excluding the overseas territories. Each department has a unique number, which is used for many administrative reasons, such as the vehicle registration plates, postcodes, but not phone numbers.

What are the 5 departments of France?

Thus, the territory of the French Republic consists of: • Metropolitan France – divided in to 13 regions and 96 departments (including Corsica); • 5 Overseas departments-regions (Département d’outre-mer – DOM; Région d’outre-mer – ROM): Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, La Réunion and Mayotte; • 5 Overseas …

How many regions and departments are there in France?

France is divided into eighteen administrative regions (French: régions, singular région [ʁeʒjɔ̃]), of which thirteen are located in metropolitan France (on the European continent), while the other five are overseas regions (not to be confused with the overseas collectivities, which have a semi-autonomous status).

What is the French motto?

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
A legacy of the Age of Enlightenment, the motto “Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité” first appeared during the French Revolution.

Which is France’s 2nd largest city?

Marseille is the second-largest city in France, covering an area of 241 km2 (93 sq mi); it had a population of 870,018 in 2016.

What is the 2nd most common religion in France?

Religion in France

  • Catholicism (41%)
  • Irreligion (40%)
  • Other religions (5%)
  • Protestantism (2%)
  • Eastern Orthodoxy (2%)
  • Other Christians (2%)
  • Islam (5%)
  • Buddhism (1%)

What are the three symbols of France?

Learn more about France’s symbols such as our National anthem, the famous Gallic Rooster or the history of the french flag.

  • La Marseillaise. Aux armes citoyens !
  • The French Flag.
  • Marianne.
  • Liberty, Equality, Fraternity.
  • The Seal of State.
  • The Gallic Rooster.

What symbolizes France?

One of the national emblems of France, the Coq Gaulois (the Gallic Rooster) decorated French flags during the Revolution. It is the symbol of the French people because of the play on words of the Latin gallus meaning Gaul and gallus meaning coq, or rooster.

What are the names of the departments in France?

France is divided into 101 departments: – 96 departments in mainland France, numbered 1 through 95 plus Corsica: 2A and 2B replacing the number 20. – 5 overseas departments (which are also regions) : Guadeloupe (971), Martinique (972), Guyana (973), Reunion (974) and Mayotte (976).

Which is the second level administrative division of France?

The department is the second-level administrative division of France. This division into departments is between the region and the district. Each department belongs to a single region. (Each overseas region being composed of a single department).

How are the departmental numbers used in France?

Departmental numbers are widely used in France to designate locations. They form the first two figures of any French postcode – for example the postcode for Toulouse is 31000, the “31” representing the department of the Haute Garonne of which Toulouse is the capital.

Which is the sole overseas department of France?

Each overseas department is the sole department in its own overseas region (French: région d’outre-mer) with powers identical to the regions of metropolitan France.

Share this post