How many African countries are crossed by the Equator?

The seven countries in Africa the equator does run through include: Gabon, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo (formerly Zaire), Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, and Sao Torne and Principe.

Which country does the Equator pass through?

The Equator passes through 13 countries: Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Sao Tome & Principe, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Maldives, Indonesia and Kiribati. At least half of these countries rank among the poorest in the world.

Does the Equator passes through the continent of Africa?

The equator passes through the continents of South America, Africa and Asia.

What is the biggest African country that the Equator runs through?

2) Democratic Republic of the Congo (2,344,858 square kilometers) This Central African country is located on the Equator. The population of the Democratic Republic of the Congo is approximately 4.66 million. The country’s sparse population is concentrated in its southwestern part.

What is the largest island in Africa?

Madagascar, island country lying off the southeastern coast of Africa. Madagascar is the fourth largest island in the world, after Greenland, New Guinea, and Borneo.

Which country is in the middle of the world?

1) In the Middle of the World Although the equator cuts across 13 different countries, Ecuador is the only country named after this imaginary line. It is also the only country in the world that is named after a geographic element. In the suburbs of Quito, the capital city, a famous monument stands on the equator line.

What country in Africa has the largest population?

African Countries by population (2021)

# Country (or dependency) Net Change
1 Nigeria 5,175,990
2 Ethiopia 2,884,858
3 Egypt 1,946,331
4 DR Congo 2,770,836

Which country in Africa is not located on the Equator?

Out of the choices given, the country that is NOT located on the Equator is going to be South Africa.

Which African countries does the equator pass through?

The seven countries in Africa the equator does run through include: Gabon , Republic of Congo , Democratic Republic of Congo (formerly Zaire ), Uganda , Kenya , Somalia , and Sao Torne and Principe.

What countries are near the equator?

Ecuador Americas

  • Colombia Americas
  • Brazil Americas
  • São Tomé and Príncipe Africa
  • Gabon Africa
  • Congo Africa
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo Africa
  • Uganda Africa
  • Kenya Africa
  • Somalia Africa
  • What island is closest to the equator?

    Trinidad and Tobago are the southernmost islands of the Caribbean and the nearest to the Equator. Tobago is the smaller of the two islands, being just 26 by 8 miles, and lies in the Caribbean Sea outside the hurricane belt. Unaffected by mass tourism as some other Caribbean islands can be, Tobago is unspoilt and has a diverse, tropical landscape.

    Share this post